Congressional Camp History
Congressional School’s history began in the fall of 1939 when it was founded by Evelyn and Malcolm Devers as an independent primary school.
Congressional Camp’s history began in the summer of 1940, following the opening of the school, when Evelyn Devers offered a summer camp program at the Devers’ property on Carlin Springs Road, in Arlington. Over the summer, children explored the acreage, which was filled with horses, goats, sheep, cows, and chickens, and planted gardens where they grew vegetables. Horses were introduced onto the campus in 1953, and the young campers were welcomed and encouraged to ride. The horses became such a focal point of the summer program that eventually the colt became the Congressional School mascot.
On September 21, 1959, the Devers family opened the Congressional campus on Sleepy Hollow Road in Falls Church, Virginia where the school and camp have continued to grow in their histories of tradition and innovation. Campers still have many opportunities to explore our 40 acres, and, while we don’t have goats, sheep, cows, or chickens anymore, we do still have horses and ponies. We also have pools, gym, a high and low ropes challenge course, a 40-foot climbing tower, an archery range, air-conditioned buildings for indoor activities, age-appropriate playgrounds, fields, a creek, and more! We look forward to celebrating our 83rd summer with your family this summer.